Wagmore's logo
Wagmore's TLC would love your feedback!
December 20, 2017

literally, within minutes, katie had lucy who is a 5 month old mixed breed following basic commands. i was absolutely amazed how fast progress is made when a professional is training both dog and owner. can't recommend katie enough. thanks so much. looking forward to more sessions.

John M
September 25, 2017

Dear Katie,

I can’t thank you enough for the work you’ve done with Bert. I brought you a rambunctious adolescent boy, barking like crazy in the car, completely certain he was big and strong enough to call the shots! After not quite two weeks in your 24/7 care, with daily hikes and gentle-but-firm training which even included adventures out into the world, he came home a happier, calmer, more responsive dog.

Your serene demeanor was apparently exactly what my goofy guy needed. He’s still goofy of course, but such a pleasure to be with.  I feel that somehow you taught him a new language, using the same words I’ve been using all along, but now he understands them.  How does that happen?

I can wholeheartedly recommend you to anyone who wants the very best care for their dog, whether it’s boarding, daycare, or training. 

All the best

May 6, 2017

Katie absolutely transformed my six month old Labrador Mix puppy Maebh at her 10 day stay and train. She is completely under control now and is a pleasure to be around. Before Katie's training I didn't think it was possible she could be such an incredible dog. I can't thank her enough. Maebh loves her and all the dogs in her pack. I'd highly recommend her for training, day care of boarding. You can tell she has a true love of dogs. She's also been patient with training me as well. She not only gets your dog is on track, she makes sure you understand her program to continue your success. Thank you very much.

Erin O'Brien
August 2, 2016

Katie has the magic touch!

Cheryl Haverty
5 stars
April 29, 2015


Thank you Katie for all your help with my beautiful strong minded 2 yr old Mal! He is a totally different dog now and knows his place in the Pack! - and it only took 3 sessions!! Thank you so much!!

Susanna Neave

5 stars
October 30, 2014


We recently left our naughty 8 month old Kerry Blue Terrier puppy, Belle, with Katie for 10 days for training.  We knew it would be a good experience because Katie had worked with us for a few sessions over the summer.  Katie and I discussed my objectives for the training when I left Belle with her.  While she was there, we received almost daily updates often with photos.  Seriously, it looked like the kind of experience I’d like to have!  Belle was in heaven, hiking, kayaking and swimming with Katie and a few other dogs. 

So, that was the fun stuff.  But the actual training far exceeded our expectations. Here’s a quick summary:   She sits when people approach, no more frenzied jumping.  She also does a consistent sit and stay.  She walks beautifully on the leash and does not go crazy and frenzied with joy when she sees other dogs.  Her barking is minimal now and she stops after one or two barks at most.  There’s not a trace of the separation anxiety that she has exhibited in the past.  And, finally and absolutely unexpectedly, Belle can ride in the car peacefully and stay in the car without becoming violently carsick, anxious or barking and worse.  That I couldn’t believe and didn’t even set as an objective, just was hoping she’d outgrow it in a year or so.   Her training has changed our lives and Belle’s in a very good way!  Wagmore gets 5+ stars out of 5.


Bruce and Carol Pollock

5 stars
June 24, 2014


Nothing thrilled us more than bringing home our 5 month English Cream Golden Retriever, “Dexter”, to our home in Lake Tahoe (Incline Village). Nothing concerned us more than training him to be the best behaved, well trained, obedient pet we could imagine . . .  especially since we had plans to raise him as a Therapy Dog. Mixing the thrill with the work fell into Katy’s expert hands and today, Dexter’s success as a “Certified Therapy Dogs, Inc.” member, “Certified Tahoe-Truckee Humane Society” member, and a “R.E.A.D Dog with Inter-Mountain Therapy Animals” is due, in great part, to Katy’s golden touch. We affectionately call Katy “The Dog Whisperer”, due to her calm nature and soft tone. To this day, when Katy’s name is mentioned or she arrives for a visit with Elani & Lark, Dexter stops whatever he’s doing and rises to the occasion. This bond of trainer, with student (both animal & human!) is second nature to Katy. Do yourself a favor and make her part of your family! 


~ Carole & Terry Bernardi (and of course, “Dexter”)

5 stars
June 15, 2014


Katie is an amazing dog trainer and highly recommend her! She is extremely knowledgeable when it come dogs and their dispositions and more importantly, she is extraordinarily patient and kind with their owners. My 1 1/2 year old German shepherd took to Katie immediately, and Eliza (my pup) and I are making wonderful progress in just a few short training sessions. I cannot wait to keep working with Katie and am thrilled she is bringing her skills to our community as well as providing an excellent and much needed doggie day care to the North Shore. Check out Wagmore's! You and your dog will not be disappointed and Thank You, Katie!!!

5 stars
January 20, 2014


As a San Francisco resident, I spent a lot of time looking for someone who could board and train my Irish Terrier puppy, Bodie.

A friend highly recommended Katie, and I decided to make the trek up to Tahoe. The long drive was more than worth it. When

I met Katie we discussed my dog's biggest issues and what my expectations were for the training. I left Bodie with Katie for two

weeks while I was out of town, and I received daily updates on his progress, along with some pretty amazing pictures. 


When I picked up Bodie, Katie gave me a very thorough summary of Bodie's two weeks. She then gave me a very informative

training session Bodie, which has allowed me to continue to train Bodie and instill better behaviors in him. It has now been two

weeks since I picked Bodie up, and the difference in his behavior is night and day. My mom took him on a walk and about 30

seconds in she called me to talk about how amazing the difference was. Every concern I had with Bodie (aggression, impulse

control, behavior on leash, responsiveness) was drastically improved. He continues to improve everyday with the guidance

Katie gave me, and she is still incredibly responsive whenever I have questions. My only regret is that I do not live closer

to Tahoe! 


5 stars
December 5, 2013


It was my good fortune to meet Katie Mize when I recently adopted a very wonderful, large dog from a local shelter. Kate had been highly recommended to me by a close friend who raises service dogs in Idaho. I had trepidations in not having owned a dog for several years and about how much it meant to me to form a a mutually good relationship with my new dog "Hubble." It was important to me to have a well mannered dog and Katie has helped us well on our way to that purpose.

I found Katie to be exceedingly professional with a real instinctive understanding of both myself and my dog. She brought an uncommon result to our training and each meeting was more enjoyable than the other. Hubble did not resist her "Whisper" and picked up obedience and behavioral cues from her quite readily. We look forward to a continued relationship with Katie Mize knowing we can only benefit from her expertise in all things which make us "Wag" our tails. We are lucky to have enjoyed her friendly and enthusiastic support and to have experienced such a great outcome.


Chris Stulik

West Shore resident, Lake Tahoe